Fairview, No. 14 Queen Elizabeth's Walk
This is a charming, small, detached house in yellow brick with a lowpitched roof in slate. Running the full length of the front and looking onto Clissold Park, is a glass verandah supported on attractive cast iron supports and horizontals.
You can see cast iron like this in many places and especially at the seaside. Brighton is full of it. So are the coast towns in Australia, in the Baltic, in Leningrad and other ports. Ships carrying wool, or timber, or any. other bulk material from these countries, had to return almost empty. The goods sent back in return were much smaller in bulk (finished cottons, agricultural tools etc.). This meant that the ships rode high in the water and had to buy ballast to stop them from keeling over. Therefore, ships were happy to carry cast iron, which is very heavy, for almost nothing. This meant that cast iron like this could be sold cheaply at coastal towns all over the world. No doubt the same castings as these can be found in coastal houses in every continent.
No. 14 is a listed building. This means that the elevation cannot be altered without permission and probably, a public enquiry. It was built about 1844 and is similar to houses built by Cubitt in Albion Rd in the 1870's and 1830's, but in plain brick, not stucco.
Notice the slate guard on the roof to prevent loose slates from smashing the glass below.
The 1846 map shows this house standing by itself in a large garden, probably a Nursery, with the Hackney Brook running at the bottom. Some-where there may be drawings or paintings of it at this period.
From 'Complete Book of Trades or the Parent's Guide and Youth's Instructor,' by N. Whittock, 1842.
The hat worn by the Carpenter in 'Alice Through the Looking Glass', and by Eric Gill, must have been traditional.
|1846 Parish of St Mary,